The Women of Brewster Place is a novel by Gloria Naylor that was first published in 1982.


Read a Plot Overview of the entire book or a chapter by chapter Summary and Analysis.


See a complete list of the characters in The Women of Brewster Place and in-depth analyses of Mattie Michael, Etta Mae Johnson, Ben, Lorraine, and Cora Lee.

Main Ideas

Here's where you'll find analysis about the book as a whole.


Find the quotes you need to support your essay, or refresh your memory of the book by reading these key quotes.

Further Study

Continue your study of The Women of Brewster Place with these useful links.

Writing Help

Get ready to write your essay on The Women of Brewster Place.