The Kitchen God's Wife is a novel by Amy Tan that was first published in 1991.


Read a Plot Overview of the entire book or a chapter by chapter Summary and Analysis.


See a complete list of the characters in The Kitchen God's Wife and in-depth analyses of Pearl Louie Brandt, Helen, and Winnie Louie.

Main Ideas

Here's where you'll find analysis about the book as a whole.


Find the quotes you need to support your essay, or refresh your memory of the book by reading these key quotes.

Writing Help

Get ready to write your essay on The Kitchen God's Wife.


Go to to get your copy of these helpful resources.