The Fellowship of the Ring is a novel by J. R. R. Tolkien that was first published in 1954.


See a complete list of the characters in The Fellowship of the Ring and in-depth analyses of Frodo Baggins, Sam Gamgee, Gandalf the Grey, and Aragorn.

Main Ideas

Here's where you'll find analysis about the book as a whole.


Find the quotes you need to support your essay, or refresh your memory of the book by reading these key quotes.

Further Study

Continue your study of The Fellowship of the Ring with these useful links.

Writing Help

Get ready to write your essay on The Fellowship of the Ring.