Election Day is November 3rd! Make sure your voice is heard

A Lesson Before Dying

Ernest J. Gaines

A Lesson Before Dying is a novel by Ernest J. Gaines that was first published in 1993.


See a complete list of the characters in A Lesson Before Dying and in-depth analyses of Grant Wiggins, Jefferson, Sheriff Sam Guidry, and Tante Lou.

Main Ideas

Here's where you'll find analysis about the book as a whole.

Writing Help

Get ready to write your essay on A Lesson Before Dying.