Artboard Created with Sketch. Close Search Dialog
! Error Created with Sketch.

Midnight’s Children

Midnight's Children is a novel by Salman Rushdie that was first published in 1981.


See a complete list of the characters in Midnight’s Children and in-depth analyses of Saleem Sinai, Padma, Shiva, The Widow, and The Brass Monkey (Jamila Singer).

Main Ideas

Here's where you'll find analysis about the book as a whole.


Find the quotes you need to support your essay, or refresh your memory of the book by reading these key quotes.

Writing Help

Get ready to write your essay on Midnight’s Children.

Study Guide

Ebook edition

Our study guide has summaries, insightful analyses, and everything else you need to understand Midnight’s Children.

Buy Now on