The Waves is a novel by Virginia Woolf that was first published in 1931.


Read a Plot Overview of the entire book or a chapter by chapter Summary and Analysis.


See a complete list of the characters in The Waves and in-depth analyses of Bernard, Jinny, Louis, Neville, Rhoda, and Susan.

Main Ideas

Here's where you'll find analysis about the book as a whole.


Find the quotes you need to support your essay, or refresh your memory of the book by reading these key quotes.

Further Study

Continue your study of The Waves with these useful links.

Writing Help

Get ready to write your essay on The Waves.


Go to to get your copy of these helpful resources.