Barbara Kingsolver Biography

Barbara Kingsolver was born on April 8, 1955 in Annapolis, Maryland. Soon after her birth, her family moved to rural Kentucky, the culture and landscape that informs much of her writing. As a child Kingsolver wrote stories and essays, but it never occurred to her that she could write for a living. In rural Kentucky, work focused mainly on survival, and a career in fiction seemed frivolous. In addition, as Kingsolver has explained in interviews, all the writers she read were old, dead men, and she could not conceive of herself within their ranks.

In the early 1970s, Kingsolver left Kentucky to attend DePauw University in Indiana. There she formally studied biology, but received an education of much wider breadth. Joining anti-Vietnam protests and studying Karl Marx and Simone de Beauvoir, she developed a taste for social activism that has never left her. She also discovered writers who mix literature with social and political advocacy. Doris Lessing's Children of Violence novels, in particular, opened her eyes to what was to be her true calling: trying to change the world through fiction.

Still, after graduating in 1977, Kingsolver did not jump into a writing career. Instead, she pursued a graduate degree in biology and ecology at the University of Arizona at Tuscon, and also spent two years living in Greece and France, during which time she supported herself through a number of odd jobs ranging from archaeologist to X-ray technician, housecleaner, and biological researcher.

After completing her graduate work, Kingsolver took on a job as a science writer for the University of Arizona, a position that soon led to a career in scientific journalism. While publishing features in such magazines and newspapers as The Nation, The New York Times, and Smithsonian by day, Kingsolver was also writing fiction at night. Her first novel, The Bean Trees was published in 1988 to critical acclaim, and was followed soon after by Homeland and Other Stories (1989), Animal Dreams (1990), Pigs in Heaven (1993), High Tide in Tucson: Essays from Now and Never (1995), and Another America: Outra America, a collection of poetry published in 1992. Each of these works has a deep social message, though in the novels the political messages are indirect and secondary to the more intimate, family-centered stories. For example, Kingsolver describes the plight of Central American refugees in The Bean Trees, the travails of young American idealists who go to work with the Sandinista government in Animal Dreams, and laws concerning the adoption of Indian children in Pigs in Heaven. It was not until The Poisonwood Bible, published in 1998, that Kingsolver, who works tirelessly as a human and environmental rights activist, finally moved her political message to the foreground of her fiction.

Barbara Kingsolver Study Guides

Barbara Kingsolver Quotes

The march of human progress seemed mainly a matter of getting over that initial shock of being here.

A wife is the earth itself, changing hands, bearing scars.

Libraries are the one American institution you shouldn't rip off.

Barbara Kingsolver Fiction

The Bean Trees

Published 1988

Homeland and Other Stories

Published 1989

Animal Dreams

Published 1990

Pigs in Heaven

Published 1993

The Poisonwood Bible

Published 1998

Prodigal Summer

Published 2000

The Lacuna

Published 2009

Flight Behavior

Published 2012

Barbara Kingsolver Essay Collections

Small Wonder: Essays

Published 2002

High Tide in Tucson: Essays from Now or Never

Published 1995